About Us

The Los Angeles Beirut Sister City Committee was established to create a bridge of understanding and friendship between the residents of these two great cities, and to foster cultural, social, and business exchanges.

Sisterly ties were officially established on August 27, 2005. Los Angeles Council Member Dennis Zine and Council President Eric Garcetti made the motion to start the process of making L.A. and Beirut Sister Cities. L.A. Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa also signed the motion. Representing Beirut was Abdulmonem Al-Aris; the Mayor of Beirut, and VP of the Beirut City Council, Tawfic Kfoury. (See reports and pictures about the agreement in the news section.)

The Los Angeles-Beirut Sister City Committee is a non-sectarian, non-political organization allowing all who wish to foster goodwill between the two cities to contribute to that goal.
Your contribution and support is encouraged.

For information on how Los Angeles selects a sister city read the program document
View PDF

Honorary members:
Council President Eric Garcetti
Council Member Dennis Zine
Judge James Kaddo

Brian Perry
Joe Beydoun

The Board of Directors 2007 to 2009
for the Los Angeles-Beirut Sister City Organization

Fares “Ferris” Wehbe Bio
Alan Hajjar
Amira Matar
Marc Lazo
Talal Beydoun
Gus Malkoun
Dr. Joanna Medawar Nachef Bio
Jimmy Jaber
Michel Wakim
Riad Itani
Emad Aboul-Hosn
Ramzi Abu Shakra Bio
Wafa Hoballah Bio
Janet Elliott
Saad Mazboudi

Find out more!
Read interesting facts and statistics about Lebanon
View photos of Old Beirut